Dang, that’s one good (Spicy) Black Burger…  

Ok so, I start this blog and immediately since I’ve been in a sort of slump. Word slump. Conversation slump. Exercise slump. Food slump. Emotional slump. Fashion slump. Work slump. Probably even, critical thinking slump. You get the picture, right? Hot mess mama! Serious marshmallow brain with a lack of motivation. What most professionals’ would anecdote as brain fog and/or winter blues, possibly?  I hope I remedy quickly because I’m exhausted and cloudy by even writing these few sentences. (Not really, I flare with dramatics tonight.) Ironic though, I still have an underlining push lingering within me to absorb and create. Which brings to the matter of the moment. Food that comforts my weary soul! Burgers! (I promise you, I eat more than oatmeal, peanut butter, and burgers.) I know, I know, I just did a burger recipe, but burgers are just so…good to me! Tasty. Convenient. Nutritious. Pairs well with an array of sides. Who can resist? If a food was a bestie…I declare, the burger it would be. Scrumptious, indeed.

Here’s what you do…

Saute’ on medium heat for 5 minutes 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1/3 red onion (diced), 1/2 jalapeno (more if you enjoy spice), and 2 cloves minced garlic. Set aside until needed.

Blend together in food processor 1/2 C. Oat flour (ground oats), 1/4 C. Breadcrumbs, 2 tablespoons Nutritional yeast, 1 teaspoon Cumin, 3/4 teaspoon Sea salt, 1/2 teaspoon Chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. Set aside until needed.

Into a food processor, 1 (chopped) red pepper, 1 medium carrot. Pulse until shredded, but not watery. Into a food processor add 1 (15 oz drained and rinsed) can of black beans. Pulse until beans are mashed with a few beans still whole for texture.

Transfer to large bowl. Add 1/2 C. Corn. Add to mixture all other waiting ingredients.

Use hands to mix and form into 5 patties.

Pan fry on medium heat for 5-7 minutes each side of the patty.

Serve on a bun with favorite condiments. (hot and spicy pickles!)

Be happy and enjoy!

Leave a comment